Jonathon Heyward celebrates his arrival as Music Director with vibrant studies of the United States, culminating with Dvořák’s epic Ninth Symphony (“From the New World”) that draws on spirituals and indigenous melodies. Gershwin’s feisty concerto brings the excitement of the Jazz Age into the concert hall, featuring the “brilliant and stylish pianist” Jean-Yves Thibaudet whose interpretation is “alive with incisive rhythms, Ravelian colorings, telling intricacy, and refreshingly cool restraint” (The New York Times). Baltimore’s own James Lee III taps into Black and Native traditions in his evocative answer to Dvořák’s American vision.

Jonathon Heyward, conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

JAMES LEE III Amer’ican 
GERSHWIN Piano Concerto in F
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Learn more
Add to Calendar 20230928 America/New_York 1212 Cathedral Street Baltimore Maryland 21212 CLASSICAL: New World Symphony with Heyward