Eva Ollikainen, conductor

Michelle Cann, piano


BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

PRICE Piano Concerto in One Movement

SHOSTAKOICH Symphony No. 5

THU, JAN 26, 8 PM – Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall

SUN, JAN 29, 3 PM – The Music Center at Strathmore

Event Information Link:  https://my.bsomusic.org/overview/17605

Ticket Information Link (Meyerhoff):  https://my.bsomusic.org/17605/17669

Ticket Information Link (Strathmore):  https://my.bsomusic.org/17605/17705

Tickets start at: $25 at Meyerhoff

Tickets start at: $35 at Strathmore

Shostakovich’s transcendent Fifth Symphony uses the coded language of musical irony that was off limits in the repressive Soviet regime. The trailblazing Finnish conductor Eva Ollikainen conducts this nuanced score with characteristic thoughtfulness, and her steady hand navigates the turbulent scenes from Britten’s dark tale of social isolation. Michelle Cann, a leader in the revival of Florence Price’s long-overlooked canon, is known for delivering a “stirring and authoritative performance” that maximizes the “technical sparkle and probing humanity” of Price’s action-packed concerto (The Philadelphia Inquirer).


Dates, times, repertoire, and locations are accurate as of the posting of the event information. For more information, visit www.BSOmusic.org or contact [email protected] or by phone at 410-783-8000 or toll free 877-276-1444.

Learn More
Add to Calendar 20230126 America/New_York 1212 Cathedral Street Baltimore Maryland 21212 Florence Price And Shostakovich