Thursday, March, 8 PM (The Music Center at Strathmore)
Saturday, March 9*, 7 PM (Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall)

Ken-David Masur, conductor
Zlatomir Fung, Cello

HOSOKAWA Meditation – to the victims of Tsunami 3.11
SAINT-SAENS Cello Concerto No.1*
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

*Not on Casual Conversations.

Since winning the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition while still a student at the Juilliard School, cellist Zlatomir Fung has vaulted into the elite ranks of international soloists, cultivating “a rich, warm tone, impeccable intonation and thoughtful phrasing” (The Baltimore Sun) that he calls upon in the unusually fluid and sensitive First Cello Concerto by Saint-Saëns. Conductor Ken-David Masur returns with Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony—a poignant meditation on fate—along with a touching tribute by the dean of living Japanese composers.

*This concert is a part of the Casual Conversations series. Please note: the program does not have an intermission.

The Music Center at Strathmore

5301 Tuckerman Lane

North Bethesda, MD 20842

Ticket Information Link (Strathmore):

Ticket range Strathmore: $21 to $97

Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall

1212 Cathedral Street

Baltimore, MD 21201

Ticket Information Link (Meyerhoff):

Tickets range Meyerhoff: $15 to $87

Learn More
Add to Calendar 20240307 America/New_York 1212 Cathedral Street Baltimore Maryland 21212 5301 Tuckerman Lane North Bethesda MD 20852 Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4